Personal Independence Payment

Personal Independence Payment (PIP) is financial support for people aged 16 to your state pension age. It has replaced Disability Living Allowance (DLA) for adults.

If you are currently on DLA, in time you will receive a letter from the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) inviting you to apply for PIP. The letter will give the date of your last DLA payment and give you a deadline that you need to ensure your PIP application is done by.

PIP is a tax-free, non-means-tested payment – this means it is not affected by your earnings, other income or by any savings you may have.

If you receive PIP, you can spend it as you wish.  The money is there to help you with the added expense that living with a disability or long-term health condition can often bring.

The payment is awarded using a points-based system. You can be awarded PIP for a short period (up to two years) or a long period (five to 10 years), with ongoing awards provided where appropriate.

Towards the end of your award period, you are invited to undergo a review to see if your situation is still the same or has changed, which could mean your PIP award could alter. You will be sent a letter about this towards the end of your current award period.

PIP has two components, with two different payment rates. We’ll explain this in detail further on in the guide, but here’s how it looks in simple terms:

Daily Living Component

Mobility Component

Enhanced Rate Enhanced Rate
Standard Rate Standard Rate

How is payment awarded?

A really important thing to know about PIP is that payment is awarded with respect to how your condition affects you, not which condition you have.

Having a diagnosis of a muscle-wasting or associated condition doesn’t guarantee that you’ll be eligible for PIP.

In the application, you need to demonstrate the impact your condition has on your everyday life. This can feel daunting.

It may feel more natural to talk about the parts of daily life that are going well, but it is really important you share the everyday reality of living with your condition.

PIP is considered on a points-based system and rated on how your condition affects you. The more support you need, the higher your points score will be.

Dependent on how many points you score, you may be entitled to either the standard or enhanced rates under the daily living or mobility component.

You need to score:

  •  8 points for the standard rate
  •  12 points for the enhanced rate.

You could qualify for the enhanced rate of both the daily living and mobility components, the enhanced rate of one and standard of the other, or not qualify for one component but qualify for the other – or any combination of these.